On Dying

27 Jun

On Dying

Oh thank the Lord for peace alights

And warms my fears away.

My heart sings songs of gratitude

And wonders at the paradox

That brings this Joy.

To never see my sons again

Or touch their hair;

To never hear their mirth

Or sooth their fears;

To never share their dreams:

The thought alone brings pain.

To never feel the sun, or wind,

Or rain upon my face,

Or watch the eagle fly

Nor touch the grass

All seem very strange.

As my day draws to its close

These Joys more precious grow

With each pulse of my ebbing life

I feel the call to give my last

And to let go.
jeanihess ©

Jeanihess Blog South Africa

Leave a Reply

