This Day

21 Jun

This Day

This day is new and full of promise.

It hangs mistily waiting to be discovered

And as I step into its cool fresh welcome

I see the path take shape; full of choice.

Where shall I go; what shall I do;

How shall I live this gifted day?

Distant winged sounds reach me now

The laughter of a child; a mother’s voice;

Silence interspersed: A dog joins in and

Alternates with chirping birds in trees;

A school bell gongs and

Traffic now hums ceaselessly

Silence interspersing sound less frequently

The beat of the day picks up; calls urgently.

What shall I do to meet the promise of this day?

                                                                                                      © jeanihess

Leave a Reply

