Oudtshoorn: Small Karoo WP South Africa

17 Jun

Lightning is a highly visible form of energy t...
Image via Wikipedia

Promises. I promised to write about Oudtshoorn and the rains.

It might rain in Oudtshoorn once in 7 years and so it was that I was about 8 years old when I first experienced rain in Oudtshoorn and the grownups looked and smiled and whispered and laughed a little at my surprise. Well, I KNEW rain. I lived where it rained every year but I understood that other children my age had never seen rain and I was not only amazed at the fact that it rained but because other children had never experienced it. Later I would be surprised that other childern had never seen the sea, or been to Town or did not have food every day, but these are other stories.

After I stood outside for a while being amazed at the rain and watching the clouds there was a loud thunder clap and Grandma called me inside. ‘So what!’ I thought ‘ Thunder. I know thunder.’ But Ma would have none of me at the windows or peeping out the door but being a child, particularly being me I snuck what looks I could and was even more amazed than before. ( I would live in awsome amazement and wonder for days, no  a life time: I am still amazed.)

There was a flash and a golden ball rolled on the ground unfolding as it rolled. The sky and the ground was alight and alive with fireworks. I half expected the lightning to pop up through the floor under my feet. This was not the thunder and lightening that I knew. The lightning was not a far and distant thing: and I understood why Ma was watching me like a hawk. But it was so beautiful, and so powerful and I so wanted to really, really SEE it.

We worried about my uncle who had not yet arrived home on his motorbike. Later we would learn that he was trapped in a flooding Olifants River and that a farmer had to tow him out.

When the storm was over the next day, I rushed outside to see if the world was still the same. And it was untill I came to the little graveyard at the top of Main Street and discovered  Fairy Land.

Everything was green and full of colour. Within hours after the rain the dry weathered plants stood tall or spread themselves and raised their little heads of blooms to the sun. There were reds, and pinks, and yellows, and purples and I ran from one to the other unable to believe my eyes. The semi-desert was lush with growth.

On the third day when I went back as I had the second day too, the flowers had gone. The plants were shrivelling up and would soon become the same old dry grey-green that I had always known. Little seed heads were already forming…

Nevertheless I know how beautiful Fairy Land really is and how privileged I was to share it.

Jeanihess Blog South Africa
5 Responses to “Oudtshoorn: Small Karoo WP South Africa”

  1. LeraJenkins June 23, 2009 at 1:19 am #

    I know nothing about it

    • Jeanius July 1, 2009 at 9:53 pm #

      It is a small town. You find the Cango Caves there.

  2. PeterMontee July 3, 2009 at 1:56 am #

    What necessary phrase… super, excellent idea

    • Jeanius August 2, 2009 at 4:54 pm #

      Hello Peter. Thanks for visiting:-)

  3. Sonel February 14, 2012 at 3:26 am #

    Wow! You told it so beautifully jeani, it felt as if I was there too. Thanks for sharing your lovely experiences. I love rain, thunder and lighting too. 🙂
    *big hugs*

Leave a Reply

